Personal Injury Protection Or 'No Fault' Insurance • Insuracox

Whereas there are various kinds of car insurance plans available, in some states, personal injury protection is required by law. Also, known as “no-fault” coverage, such sorts of car policies pay up to their stated limits for any injuries suffered whereas driving.

Costs of Personal Injury Protection

A handful of states enacted no-fault auto policies starting within the seventies, and Michigan has no limit on how abundant can be paid to cover the costs of personal injury protection. Anyone suffering an extended-term disability from an automobile accident in Michigan can have medical expenses, and other claims paid always. And that has created the state the most expensive in the nation for ensuring vehicles lately.

Personal Injury Protection Plans

Twelve states in all have such no-fault auto policy laws in place with the intent to scale back the number of lawsuits arising from accidents. Regardless that party is accountable for causing a collision ensuing in bodily injury; personal injury protection plans can give automatic payment while leaving it up to the insurers to determine if they can ask for redemption through legal suggests that.

Unfortunately, such insurance policies have spurred lots of abuse and criminal activity through fraud. Policy limits can be as high as $250,000 for injuries to more than one person concerned in a very vehicular mishap. And criminals have created elaborate schemes to defraud automobile insurers in some states by staging collisions and sending the would-be victims to real or pretend medical professionals who bill for health care services that never were required or provided.

Mandatory no fault insurance laws exist in Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, and Michigan. Different states with such laws are Minnesota, new Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, and Washington state. In each, the average car insurance rate typically is a lot of more than in those with customary auto laws.

Personal Injury Protection Policies

But even in those states, laws will vary greatly. Maryland, Texas, and Washington state permit motorists to waive bodily injury protection for standard vehicle coverage. And whereas not required in 38 states, personal injury protection policies can be bought in several of them, though several drivers opt for additional customary plans.

A profit of pip coverage is rates usually do not rise because of a claim being filed for substantial injury payments. And that may be a comfort for people involved in injury inflicting collisions that otherwise may have landed them in an exceedingly courtroom and facing a doubtless expensive legal judgment. And whereas rates typically are higher with pip coverage, knowing there’s less chance of being sued will comfort several motorists, creating the extra value bearable.

  • 5/5
  • 30 ratings
30 ratingsX
Very bad!BadHmmmOkeGood!
0%0%0%0%100%

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here