On May 04, 2012, Florida Governor Rick Scott signed legislation that was designed to reduce auto accident fraud, lower the value of car insurance premiums, and scale back the litigation prices related to the current personal injury protection insurance statute. The purpose of this article is to help Florida motorists understand the changes created by the revised law and to debate how the changes can impact auto accident insurance claims when the revised ordinance takes the result. A portion of the revised law goes into effect on July 01, 2012, with the remainder going into effect on January 01, 2013. Keep in mind that, in most cases, your insurance company might not be required to amend your policy or notify you concerning these changes before this revised law applies to your scenario.
Personal Injury Protection Insurance Statute
- In most cases, the revised personal injury protection statute can apply to accidents occurring once July 01, 2012.
- Even though you’re needed to have $10,000 in personal injury protection insurance coverage, your claim for pip benefits, if you are injured in an auto accident, will be limited to $2,500 unless a medical doctor, osteopathic physician, dentist, physician assistant, or an advanced registered nurse practitioner determines that you have an “emergency medical condition”, as that term is outlined within the revised statute.
- You must receive initial services and care at intervals 14 days when your auto accident or you’ll not be eligible to recover personal injury protection advantages.
- If you get initial services and care for the fourteen days, you’ll be able to then seek follow-up treatment, in step with the underlying medical diagnosis, if you get a referral from one of the medical providers listed in the statute
- Neither massage therapy nor acupuncture is covered beneath the revised personal injury protection law. If your treatment arranges includes either, create sure you check to determine if your health insurance will buy those services or you will pay out of your pocket.
- If you receive a bill from a medical provider for services that were provided to you, be sure to inquire as to why the bill wasn’t paid by your personal injury protection carrier. If the bill wasn’t paid because of the medical provider did not timely submit the proposal to the personal injury protection carrier, then the medical provider presumably cannot be able to charge you for the costs that were not paid because of the previous submission.
- If your insurance carrier requests that you only taste an examination underneath oath (“EUO”), be certain that you just comply because if you don’t your claim beneath personal injury protection might be denied and you’ll purchase medical expenses that you have got already incurred out of your pocket.
- · If your insurance carrier requests that you undergo a medical examination, be sure to grant that request your immediate attention since an unreasonable refusal or failure to seem at the examination might end in your claim for subsequent personal injury protection edges being denied. Also, if you fail to appear at two (a pair of) examinations, your refusal and failure to look can be deemed unreasonable unless you can prove otherwise.
- Although one amongst the purposes behind the revised personal injury protection statute was to lower insurance premiums, the Florida legislature and Governor Scott gave the insurance corporations an “out,” therefore we tend to will all must wait to work out what happens. I wouldn’t hold your breath! Your safest bet would probably be to arrange on your insurance premiums not decreasing. However, we tend to will forever hope for the simplest.