The state of Florida is understood for its mandatory no-fault insurance, additionally known as personal injury protection insurance, which covers Florida drivers up to the boundaries of their insurance policy no matter fault. This insurance arrange covers a driver’s children, members of their household and different, sure passengers who lack personal injury protection insurance if they are doing not own a vehicle. Because of some significant-duty lobbying, the Florida Senate recently passed several reforms to the state’s no-fault insurance.
In a very live that passed with a 22-17 vote, the Senate agreed to reinforce the motor vehicle no-fault law to cut back fraud. Some individuals are claiming that the existing policy has added an astonishing $1.4 billion each year in insurance costs since 2004, although opponents argue that this is often an obvious exaggeration. The no-fault insurance law has been in place since 1971, and the legislation provides that a driver’s license company is accountable for paying up to $10,000 to hide lost wages and medical bills when an accident.
This law has had a significant and costly impact on every driver within the state of Florida, and reports show that drivers pay around a total of $1 billion annually to create up losses. It is not uncommon for a few neighborhoods in South Florida and the Tampa Bay space to pay several hundred greenbacks annually additionally to auto insurance premiums for the no-fault insurance coverage. Thanks to the recent reforms, insurance corporations will be required to drop rates by twenty-five% and accident victims will be needed to seek medical treatment at intervals seven days of their accident, versus 14 days previously given.
No-Fault, Personal Injury Protection
If you’re a Florida driver who has been concerned in an automotive accident, here is what you’ll be able to expect from the no-fault, personal injury protection, insurance that you’ve got been paying for since you registered your vehicle. If you were injured once another driver rear-ended you, your personal injury protection insurance would get 80% of your medical bills, and 60 percent of you lose wages. All drivers within the state are needed to carry at least $10,000 of property damage liability (PDL) in addition to the minimum $10,000 of personal injury protection throughout the whole thing of their license and registration period.
However, if your injuries are quite severe, you wish to understand that your $10,000 of personal injury protection will be exhausted before you get out of the hospital. In this case, you would like the help of a Tampa personal injury attorney who can help you get the compensation you wish from the driving force responsible for your wounds. For a lot of information on how the changes to the personal injury protection insurance law can influence you, contact a knowledgeable Tampa personal injury lawyer.